Performance Standards for Safety Glass

BS EN 12600 has now superseded BS 6206 as a European wide performance standard for impact safety for glass.Developed to be a more ‘modern’ test it provides much the same performance levels as BS6206 (see below).
Classifications within BS EN 12600 (in order of highest performance are:Class 1B1
Class 2B2
Class 3B3
In order for glass to be classified as impact safe it is subjected to this Safety Standard Test. The safety test will define the level at which glass will “break safe”.

A weight is dropped from three heights on to a a standard sized pane of glass.

The glass is classified at the point in which it breaks.

The standard defines three drop heights: 190mm, 450mm, 1200mm.

Class 3, 190mm drop height
This is considered equivalent to an adult pushing hard against the glass or a child running into it.

Class 2, 450mm drop height
This is considerd equivalent to more than an adult walking into a glass door, however, less than a determined attempt to force a way through by running at it.

Class 1, 1200mm drop height
This is to test glass for critical applications.Type B breakage is the typical breakage mode for glass with a safety film applied or laminated glass as it relates to the fragments of glass being held together by the film or laminate.

Materials meeting the performance criteria of BSEN 12 600 and are classified as safety material MUST carry a mark indicating the level of safety achieved during test.The table below provides a comparison between classifications BS EN 12600 and BS6206: